Class of 2020 national merit scholar finalists announced

Robinson announces seven students as National Merit Scholarship finalists.


This year’s National Merit Finalists, courtesy @ib_rhs on Twitter.

Morgan Brazier, Editor-in-chief

On Tuesday, Feb 11, Robinson announced the class of 2020 National Merit Scholarship finalists. Seven semi-finalists were selected back in September and now, all seven students have been announced as finalists.

The National Merit Scholarship program grants scholarships to select students based on their PSAT test scores from their junior year. The students scores for the program are determined by a “selection index” which is a newly calculated score based on their PSAT section scores. Florida’s cut off selection index this year for semifinalists was 219.

Based on the students selection index, they were recognized as semifinalists in early September of their senior year. But to qualify for the National Merit Scholarship, a student must be a finalist. To move on as a finalist, students must satisfy a number of requirements including completing an application, maintaining a high academic record, writing an essay, being endorsed by a school official, and earning an SAT or ACT score that reaffirms their PSAT/NMSQT score. Finalists will then be considered for the scholarship.

This year, Robinson’s finalists are Rohan Nadgir, Charles Hobby, Srikavin Ramkumar,  Alex Kirkner, Kayla Huynh, Sierra Shellabarger, and Vasishta Akinapalli.